Join Qajaq USA

Qajaq USA Board & Staff

Qajaq USA is the American Chapter of Qaannat Kattuffiat - the Greenland Kayak Association. We have members world-wide. Qajaq USA is one of only two affiliated "Qajaq" clubs outside of Greenland. Most "Qajaq" clubs are scattered among the small villages of Greenland and are a major impetus in keeping the local kayaking traditions alive.

Our Mission:

 

Home > Qajaq USA > Board & Staff

Qajaq USA Board Members & Advisors at 2007 Delmarva Retreat.
Many of the original Qajaq USA Board Members and Advisors, from Delmarva 2007. Top row (left to right), Greg Stamer, John Doornink, Tom Milani, Ed Zachowski, Keith Attenborough, Vernon Doucette. Bottom row (left to right), Richard Nonas, Wes Ostertag, Jen Torres, Nancy Thornton, Dan Segal, Ben Fuller.


QAJAQ USA Board Members and Teams


Joanne Barta:
  Board Member, Events Chair
joanne@qajaqusa.org
Milwaukie, OR
   
 
Chris Beckman:
  Board Advisor
chris@qajaqusa.org
Rehoboth Beach, DE
   
Sharon Bustamante:
  Board Advisor
sharon.bustamante@yandex.com
Lake Leelanau, MI
   
 
  Board Member, Qajaq USA President
christopher@qajaqusa.org
Savage, MN
   
  Board Member, PNW Representative
john@qajaqusa.org
Poulsbo, WA
   
 
  Board Emeritus, Archivist, Journal Editor
vernon@qajaqusa.org
Cambridge, MA
   
  Board Member, Membership Chair
renee@qajaqusa.org
Deerwood, MN
   
 
  Board Member, Treasurer
ben@qajaqusa.org
Cushing, ME
   
  Board Emeritus
harvey@qajaqusa.org
Portland, OR
   
 
  Board Advisor, HRGF
kksq723@yahoo.com
Teaneck, NJ
   
  Board Advisor, TRAQS
ed_mann@qajaqusa.org
Dunnellon, FL
   
 
  Board Advisor, past MASIK editor
tommilani@me.com
Alexandria, VA
   
  Board Emeritus
richard@qajaqusa.org
New York City, NY
   
 
  Board Member, Vice President, Past President
terry@qajaqusa.org
Cranbury, NJ
   
John Pedersen:
  Board Advisor, Greenland Liaison
Ilulissat, Greenland
   
 
  Board Advisor
fred_randall@qajaqusa.org
Georgetown, ME
   
  Board Emeritus
dan@qajaqusa.org
Plymouth, MA
   
 
  Board Member, Past-President, Webmaster, Forum Admin
greg@qajaqusa.org
Altamonte Springs, FL
   
  Board Advisor
fransymes@gmail.com
Beaufort, SC
   
 
  Board Member, Outreach Chair, MASIK editor
helen@greenlandorbust.org
Lander, WY
   
  Board Advisor, Past President
ezachowski@aoti.net
Brielle, NJ
   
 
 
 
   

Committees and Teams

 

Events
Objective:
Qajaq USA organized/sponsored events support the mission of Qajaq USA by promoting Greenland-style kayaking and by providing outreach and educational opportunities. Education includes cultural information, traditional kayaking skills and kayak/paddle/equipment making. This is a round table committee of the organizers of Qajaq USA events.
Email:
Name
Title/Function
City, State
Joanne Barta
SSTIKS
Milwaukie, OR
Chris Beckman
Delmarva
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Sharon Bustamante
Qajaq TC
Lake Leelanau, MI
Chair
Deerwood, MN
HRGF
Teaneck, NJ
TRAQS
Dunnellon, FL
TIPS
Beaufort, SC
Lynette Woida
Qajaq Camp
Shakopee, MN


Merchandise
Objective:
This team supports Qajaq USA and its members through fundraising by selling high-quality merchandise, and by offering quality support. This team designs and develops its own products and also searches for hard-to-find items of interest to members.
Email:
Name
Title/Function
City, State
Joanne Barta
 
Milwaukie, OR
Mike Bielski
 
Waterville, OH
Gina Johnson
 
Grand Haven, MI
Lynette Woida
Chair
Shakopee, MN


Outreach
Objective:
Maintain the membership data, support Members, seek to retain and add members.
Email:
Name
Title/Function
City, State
Tim Gallaway
 
Grand Haven, MI
Peter Gengler
 
Rehoboth, MA
Luciano Rovner
 
White Plains, NY
Outreach Chair
Lander, WY



Interested in Joining one of our Teams? Please Contact us!